SCOTUS Fantasy League Final Totals!

Posted: July 8, 2017 by Nazim in Fantasy Supreme Court League

Gavel bones 2

So, Nazim screwed up, and scored Nelson for Manrique last time. Now that this has been fixed, we owe apologies all around, and our gratitude to listener Austin, who caught that something was wrong. However, that may have changed your position in a way that you might not recognize based on our last update. In any case, I’m crunching a lot of numbers here, so please let me know if you think I screwed up, but only if you’ll give me some idea of how to fix it. Again, thanks, Austin, you golden god, and victor of this term’s League! To make room for some runners-up, I highlighted the scores of the folks who got the most points from each ballot. You’re no slouches either. Especially Lauren, who pulled it off twice! Listener and host Brett got second place, which he thinks is worth something.

In Sessions v. Morales-Santana, we’re giving the outcome to the Appellee, despite the fact that he’s not going to get citizenship, because he made the successful equal protection argument that got the law overturned. I know, he’s screwed, but he technically won. And technical victories are the best victories, amIrite? Anyone? Crickets?

Hernández v. Mesa was decided per curiam, so nobody’s getting any points for the vote or the author of the majority opinion. Maybe we’ll make those options available for the next term. Gloucester County School Board v. G.G. is another one in which nobody gets any points at all. Overton v. US was consolidated with Turner v. US, so the results were similar, and Vito, oh, Vito, you fat, magnificent bastard, I could kiss you†: you predicted everything correctly for both, scoring ridiculous points there. Ashcroft v. Abbasi saw a 4-2 majority. I’m not really sure what the league takeaway for that is. I mean, next term we’ll just use the majority number to assign points, but I don’t think it’s worth giving all the majority options down to a one justice majority… Maybe I’ll lump per curiam and “smaller majority” together as one choice? What do you think?

Sessions v. Dimaya and Jennings v. Rodriguez will be decided next term, so they won’t be scored this term. Hopefully we’ll remember to add them back into the mix next term, and if I’m really motivated I’ll look up the predictions people made this term and throw them in the mix for those who don’t re-submit their predictions.

This seems like the right add some ado, when I say the word ado, I move the accent to the first syllable, because it makes me sound Japanese, I think. Without it, here are the final scores:

Final Rankings

†Offer void where prohibited or disinclined. I might mention that I’ve never met Vito in meatspace.

Comments
  1. Todd Sproule says:

    Huge congrats to Austin from LA. A complete trouncing indeed!

    I milked some glory with family and friends for the one month I was in apparent first place. Alas, it really was fake news!

    Thank you Brett & Nazim for running the league and for your podcast. You guys really are my favourite listen of the week. Looking forward to the next session.
    Todd

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

