Step Zero

Posted: November 30, 2016 by Nazim in Election, Moral High Ground, Politics

maxresdefault

The “recent unpleasantness” was the way some politician referred to the Civil War, I believe, and I’ll steal the euphemism to say that the recent unpleasantness has caused a great stir among the people I know, and in mostly negative ways, as I mentioned in the recent episode. Personally, my reaction has been to re-evaluate: I was wrong about some things before the election. I might be wrong about others. Some have taken this to mean that they should be passive, or acquiescent, or something else they somehow both didn’t want to hear and at the same time heard. I can’t speak intelligently about humans – I include myself in that group – but lucky for me, others can.

I was trying to work this article on cognitive bias into some kind of election preparation piece that never came together, but find useful now. The short of it, because, if I’m frequently too lazy to click through, you might be as well, is this quote:

 

  • We don’t see everything. Some of the information we filter out is actually useful and important.
  • Our search for meaning can conjure illusions. We sometimes imagine details that were filled in by our assumptions, and construct meaning and stories that aren’t really there.
  • Quick decisions can be seriously flawed. Some of the quick reactions and decisions we jump to are unfair, self-serving, and counter-productive.
  • Our memory reinforces errors. Some of the stuff we remember for later just makes all of the above systems more biased, and more damaging to our thought processes.

 

Leave a Reply

