Politicians Keep Promises

Posted: September 30, 2016 by Nazim in Politics, Uncategorized

house_of_lies_title_card

About two-thirds of the time, according to fivethirtyeight, politicians keep their promises. Some of you may be surprised to read this coming from Nazim’s keyboard, but even I can’t fight these numbers. It certainly jives with my notion that politicians are very motivated to keep their jobs. And I would certainly have questions about what constitutes a promise and what constitutes keeping it. The answer to the latter is a generic “good faith effort,” according to the article. I’m not sure I’d be satisfied with that. If I promise to fix your car, would you be okay with “I tried?”

And, more to the point, two-thirds is still an absurdly low fraction. I haven’t been tracking my rate, but I certainly hope that it’s better than two-thirds.

Leave a Reply

